How Long You Have to Call Insurance After an Accident
There are not many periods in our lives that are as stressful as the time after a car accident. In addition to dealing with the injuries and mental side effects of a traumatic event, you should also consider your next steps. you may need to deal with your own auto insurance company and possibly the other driver’s insurance company.
- Costa Rica Health Insurance for Foreigners and Expatriates
- How Apple TV beat Netflix with &x27CODA&x27s&x27 best picture Oscar – Los Angeles Times
- USVI Home Buyer & Seller FAQs | Sea Glass Properties
- Stripe Statistics 2022: Growth, Revenue & Market Share – EarthWeb
- Trends in Pricing and Out-of-Pocket Spending on Entecavir Among Commercially Insured Patients, 2014-2018 | Infectious Diseases | JAMA Network Open | JAMA Network
You may be wondering how long you have to report your accident and if you really need to file an auto insurance claim.
Reading: How soon do you have to call insurance after accident
all answers depend on a variety of different factors, including the severity of your accident and your insurance company’s policy. however, the insurance policy often gives you 24 hours to tell them about an accident . And when it comes to filing a claim, Florida Statute 95.11 gives you four years to do so.
It is a good idea to seek the advice of a personal injury attorney before reporting a car accident to your insurance company. Your insurance company is just like any other big company, their top priority is profit, and anything you tell them could be used to devalue your claim. therefore, when you inform them, you should be as vague as possible.
That’s why we strongly recommend that you at least take the free consultation that Law Place offers. This way, you can get free, no-strings-attached information and advice from an experienced personal injury attorney on what your best course of action is. Florida accident law can be complex and difficult to navigate, and having a knowledgeable attorney on your side can make everything a little easier.
Our phone lines are always open, so contact us today at (888) 224-6114.
How long do I have to contact my insurance company?
After you’ve taken care of the more important things, like your health and the health of others involved in the accident, the daunting task of resolving liability and compensation will likely take up most of your thoughts. especially if you have substantial property damage or mounting medical bills.
If you’re wondering if there are any time limits on how quickly you must report your incident to your insurance company, there is no universally correct answer.
The answer will depend entirely on your insurance company and its policies, as well as the individual details of your insurance policy.
Often, there is no specific deadline or time frame. instead, they will usually state that you must report your accident immediately or as soon as reasonably possible. These are vague responses that basically indicate that you don’t need to contact them right away, but you should do so as soon as possible.
See also : These 2 Companies Dominate E-Commerce in Southeast Asia | The Motley Fool
Most insurance companies will expect you to report your accident to the police within 24 hours, although again, it will often be worded as “as soon as possible”.
for a free legal consultation, call 941-444-4444
How long after an accident can a claim be filed?
Although your insurance company may pressure you to file a claim as soon as possible, you have every right to wait, as long as you comply with the Florida statute of limitations. Under these laws, he has four years from the date of the accident to file a claim.
However, to file a claim, you will need a police report. Per Florida Statute 316.062, you must contact the police at the scene of the accident if there has been substantial damage or injury.
If the police are not required to be on the scene, per Florida Statute 316.066, you are still legally required to report to the police after any accident and you have ten days to do so. This can be done by contacting your local police department or the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) website.
Insurance companies will generally state in your policy that if you plan to open a claim as a result of an accident, do so as soon as possible. This is not a one-size-fits-all policy; however, don’t worry if it takes a couple of weeks before you feel ready.
If you’re not quite ready to talk to someone about a claim, we recommend that you write down everything that happened as soon as possible and record all medical bills, property damage, and any other bills related to a change. in their quality of life as a consequence of the accident.
what happens if I wait to file a claim?
One of the reasons you may wait to file a claim with your insurance company is when you are still dealing with treatment and injuries from the accident. If you file a claim immediately and hastily, you may not be entitled to seek coverage for other problems that arise later.
We encourage you to file a claim as soon as you are ready.
click to contact our personal injury attorneys today
why it is better to apply earlier than later
See also : Average Cost of Pet Insurance: 2022 Facts and Figures – ValuePenguin
While there are several reasons why you might consider waiting to start your claim process with your insurance company, for most people, it’s better to apply sooner rather than later.
The main disadvantage of delaying a claim is that you will have to wait longer to get compensation. you will be out of pocket if you have to pay the cost of the damages caused by the accident. What’s worse, if you take too long, the result could be even worse than a slow and delayed payment, which could result in your insurance company not paying anything.
as we have already mentioned, if you do not file a claim within the time period designated by state statute (4 years), you will be forever barred from filing a claim related to that accident.
Even if you wait a couple of months, you could be jeopardizing your chances of compensation. The further away you get from the incident, the more difficult it will be to collect evidence and defend your claim with your auto insurance company.
The earlier the accident occurs, the easier it will be for your attorney to investigate. The longer you wait, the harder it is to trace, the cctv could be wiped, witnesses could be harder to find, all of which could lead to a failed claim attempt.
complete a free case evaluation form now
some tips for a successful claim
here are some simple but effective tips to maximize your chances of winning your claim.
- When reporting the accident to the police, ask for the officer’s information so you can get a police report. Police reports are very valuable in proving liability in court.
- Write down as much information as you can about the accident, record the other driver’s contact information, car details, and get details from the other driver’s insurance company.
- One great thing you can do is draw a sketch of the accident as soon as possible. draw the road and the cars involved with arrows to describe the direction they were traveling.
- take as many pictures as you can, of damage and injuries and anything else that might be helpful.
- keep copies of everything, every document and every correspondence should be kept. being strict about this is vital if you want to have the best chances in court.
contact the place of law today!
Here at Place Law, we have over 70 years of combined experience handling traffic incidents like yours. We’ve seen it all, and our team of knowledgeable attorneys will give you the best chance to successfully seek the compensation you deserve.
Contact us today and we can schedule a free consultation. In this quick phone call, one of our knowledgeable and trained attorneys will provide you with the best information and unbiased advice. this advice is untethered, and you are not tied to anything afterwards. if you decide you want us to represent you, we can take the reins. we’ll get in touch on your behalf and do everything for you, and then you can sit back and focus on your physical and mental recovery.
what are you waiting for? Contact us at (888) 224-6114 today and let us pursue the compensation you deserve.
call or text 941-444-4444 or fill out a free case evaluation form