On this page, you will find all of the state specific information for insurance licensing in the state of Colorado. this information refers to applicants for residence licenses. For additional resident license information, or for nonresident license information, see the Colorado Division of Insurance website at http://www.dora.state.co.us/insurance. information is subject to change and we will do our best to make the process of completing the educational requirements for licensing as simple as possible.
- CrowdStrike Remains an Industry Leader with Strong Revenue Growth and Improving Profitability – Simply Wall St News
- What Oatmilk Does Starbucks Use? (2022 Facts) – Algrim.co
- Penalties | Internal Revenue Service
- Fiverr – Fiverr Announces Fourth Quarter and Full Year 2021 Results
- Clover Health: How the King of SPACs Lured Retail Investors Into a Broken Business Facing an Active, Undisclosed DOJ Investigation – Hindenburg Research
department of regulatory agencies: producer licenses 1560 broadway, suite 850 denver, co 80202 phone: 303-894-7499 fax: 303-894-7455 website: http://www.dora.state.co.us /insurance email: firstname.lastname@example.org
how to get your colorado insurance license
1. complete an insurance pre-licensing course
colorado requires those seeking an insurance license to complete the pre-licensing before taking the state licensing exam. prelicensing courses with kaplan give you the best chance of passing – our pass rates are among the highest in the industry.
Pre-licensing education hour requirements
- life: 50 hours
- health: 50 hours
- property: 50 hours
- loss: 50 hours
- property & accidents: 50 hours
- personal lines: 50 hours
Included as part of the major lines of authority requirements above, all applicants must successfully complete a total of ten (10) hours of training in the following areas:
- insurance principles: 3 hours
- legal concepts and regulations: 4 hours
- ethics: 3 hours
Note: If you apply for multiple lines of authority, the Insurance Principles, Legal Concepts and Regulations, and Ethics Training need to be taken only once.
acceptable methods of education
live class requirements
Pre-class study (must be completed before attending the live class):
- life & health: 37 hours of life, 37 hours of health, plus 10 hours of insurance principles, legal and reg concepts and ethics*
- life only: 32 hours of life, plus 10 hours of insurance principles, legal concepts, and reg and ethics*
- health only: 32 hours of health, plus 10 hours of insurance principles, legal concepts and reg and ethics*
- property & accidents: 12 hours of property, 12 hours of accidents, plus 10 hours of insurance principles, legal concepts, and registration and ethics*
*if the student is already licensed in one line of authority, the 10 hours of principles, record and ethics do not apply to the second line.
in-class exam: In colorado, a graded in-class exam is given to assess a user’s readiness for the state exam. the test must pass 70% or better to receive a certificate of completion.
online course requirements
- Forced Progression – This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
- Proctor – To obtain a certificate of completion and issued, the certification exam for self-paced courses must be proctored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).
pre-licensing education exemptions
Individuals who hold one or more of the following current and valid designations or certifications are exempt from the pre-licensing education requirements for the respective line of insurance authority:
- life: cebs, chfc®, cic, cfp®, clu®, flmi, lutcf
- accident & health or illness: rhu, cebs, rebc, hia
- property and casualty: aai, arm, cic, cpcu®
Note: A person who has a four-year degree from an accredited institution of higher education with major courses in insurance is also exempt from prelicensing education.
Adjuster license requirements
The Designated Home State (DHS) Appraiser license is available to individuals who are 1) residents of a state that does not license appraisers, or 2) individuals who are business appraisers and reside in a state that it only licenses independent appraisers and wants to designate another state as its home state.
2. Pass Your Colorado Licensing Exam
After completing the required prelicensing course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s prelicensing content is based directly on the Colorado licensing exams, so you’ll be prepared to pass the first time.
certificate of completion requirements
To receive a certificate of completion, candidates must pass a closed-book final exam (a minimum score of 70% is required). self-study course exams must be proctored by a disinterested third party. face-to-face course exams must be proctored by a qualified instructor.
- Prelicensing providers must submit prelicensing termination information electronically to Pearson Vue/Colorado Division of Insurance within 10 days of termination.
- Candidates must provide evidence of successful completion of pre-licensing training at that time. of the exam.
- Pre-licensing completion certificates are valid for one year from the date of completion. if you attempt to take the exam after one year, you will not be licensed until you complete a prelicensing class. you must apply for a license within a year or you will be required to retake the prelicensing class.
exam provider: pearson vue
- For a licensing information bulletin, visit the pearson vue website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
- To schedule an exam, contact pearson vue at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-2616.
- The Division of Insurance, part of the Department of Regulatory Agencies, has worked with its testing provider, Pearson Vue, to make the tests online are available through its platform, onvue. All insurance licensing exams offered at test centers will be available online: Accident & health, accident, life, personal lines, property, credit, hail adjuster, public insurance adjuster, surplus lines and title. Online exam proctoring allows these certification tests to be taken remotely, offering not only convenience, but also security during the COVID-19 pandemic. candidates need their own computer with a webcam, a reliable internet connection, and a quiet room. they are monitored by a proctor via webcam and microphone to protect the integrity of the exam. Candidates who wish to access insurance exams online will use Pearson Vue’s Colorado Insurance Testing website and when registering for an exam, choose “at home or office” when selecting an exam delivery option. . They will be asked to download the OnVue app, which will ask them to provide photos of the following: a headshot, a government-issued ID, and the room where the exam will take place. call pearson vue at 800-274-2616 or email email@example.com if you have any questions. exams are still available at testing sites; however, to maintain proper social distancing measures, these sites are only operating at 50% capacity. use the same link above to see test center availability.
Colorado Licensing Exam FAQs
After completing my pre-licensing, how should I prepare for test day?
- Candidates must report to the test center at least thirty (30) minutes before the exam begins to complete registration. the time allotted for the exam varies, and each candidate will leave the test center with an official score report in hand.
- candidates must bring their prelicensing certificate of completion to the test center, along with two forms of identification.
- Candidates must present two (2) forms of identification with a current signature. the name on the ID must exactly match the name on the record. the primary ID must be government-issued and have a photo with a signature, and the secondary ID must contain a valid signature.
- ID must be in English.
- main id:
- u.s. state department driver’s license
- u.s. learner’s permit (plastic card with photo and signature only)
- country/state/national identification card
- passport card
- military ID
- military ID for spouses and dependents
- alien registration card (green card with visible signature, permanent resident visa)
- united states social security card
- debit (ATM) or credit card
- any form of identification on the primary identification list
How is the exam?
test sessions are recorded. personal items are not allowed in the testing room. personal items include, but are not limited to, cell phones, handheld computers or other electronic devices, pagers, watches, wallets, purses, firearms or other weapons, hats, bags, coats, books and/or notes, pens or pencils .
question formats include:
- multiple choice
- multiple select
- fill in the blanks
- hot area
- drag and drop
The exam may contain previous questions. these are questions for which the test provider collects statistical data for use in future tests. pretest questions are unlabeled and do not affect your score.
How is the exam scored?
There are multiple versions of each of the licensing exams. these versions are known as forms. Although all forms of an exam are developed based on the content outlines, the difficulty of the forms of an exam may vary slightly due to different questions appearing on each form. To ensure that no candidate is placed at an unfair advantage or disadvantage due to the particular form of an exam presented to them, a statistical procedure known as equating is used to correct for differences in form difficulty.
for example, on an exam with two (2) forms, form a and form b, the state licensing agency determines that answering 30 questions correctly on form a demonstrates the minimum amount of knowledge necessary to obtain a license. it is further determined through the matching process that form b contains slightly more difficult questions than form a; therefore, correctly answering 30 questions on Form A would indicate the same level of knowledge as correctly answering only 28 questions on Form B. Under this set of circumstances, a score of 30 questions correct would be used as a passing score on Form A, while a score of 28 questions correct would be used as a passing score on Form B.
A second statistical procedure known as scaling is used to derive the numerical score to report on each candidate. the scale is used to place a raw score on a common reporting scale where each scaled score represents a given level of knowledge, regardless of the difficulty of the form on which the raw score was obtained. To illustrate how the scale works, suppose that in the exam example used earlier, the state licensing agency decides to use a score of 500 as the passing score for reporting purposes. (Note that the score selected to be used as the reported passing score is not related to and does not influence the difficulty of the exam.)
based on the information provided above, a raw score of 30 on form a would translate to a scaled score of 500; a raw score of 28 on form b would also translate to a scaled score of 500, since a raw score of 30 on form a represents the same level of knowledge as a raw score of 28 on form b.
The division established the qualification to pass an exam (in conjunction with Pearson Vue) after completing a comprehensive study for each exam. Raw scores are converted to scaled scores that can range from 0 to 100. To prevent misuse of score information, numerical scores are only reported to failing candidates. the scaled score reported to you is not the number of questions you answered correctly or the percentage of questions you answered correctly. any score below the passing score indicates how close the candidate came to passing, rather than the actual number or percentage of questions candidates answered correctly.
what are the next steps for someone who fails?
reschedule the exam. note: reservations cannot be made at the test center and you must wait 24 hours before making another.
How long is the exam?
3. apply for colorado insurance license
Once you have passed the state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license.
it will be assigned an npn. This unique identifier is assigned through the license application process and is used to track individuals and business entities nationwide. many states use the npn to replace a producer’s license number.
4. plan to complete required insurance continuing education (ce) credits
All insurance producers must comply with the ce requirements of their home state. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you sign up for a CE Library with Kaplan.
Learn how to renew a Colorado insurance license by clicking here.