In New York State, you don’t need a license to buy or register a car, but getting insurance without a license (no matter what state you live in) can be difficult.
Here’s what you need to know about New York auto insurance laws when it comes to buying and insuring a vehicle without a license.
can you buy a car without a license in new york?
Absolutely, although you won’t be able to try it on or take it off the lot once you’ve made the purchase. There is no law on the books that says you must have a valid driver’s license to buy a car. however, you will need some form of government-issued identification to complete the transaction and title or register the car.
There are several reasons why you may want to purchase a vehicle when you do not have a license.
here are some:
- have a disability and need a car for a caregiver to drive.
- You own a business and need a vehicle for licensed employees to drive.
- You have a minor child who has a license but cannot legally finance a vehicle.
- you have a driver.
- Underage driver in the home: Most insurance companies will not allow a driver under the age of 18 to purchase insurance coverage on their own because they cannot legally hold a contract. This means that if she has a teenage child in the household that she drives, she still needs insurance coverage regardless of whether or not she drives.
- Driver or Personal Caregiver: If you have lost your license, your license is suspended, or you can no longer drive due to health reasons, you may need a driver who is insured.
- $10,000 property damage for a single accident.
- $25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death of a person involved in an accident.
- $50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death of two or more people in one accident.
- remain active as long as the registration is valid, even if you don’t use the vehicle.
- be new york state insurance coverage, issued by a company licensed by the new york state department of financial services and certified by the new york dmv. out of state insurance is never acceptable.
- be issued in the name of the vehicle’s registrant and remain in the registrant’s name at all times.
can you register a car without a license in new york?
The quick answer is no.
according to the new york state department of motor vehicles, you do not need to have a driver’s license or learner’s permit to apply for a vehicle registration or certificate of title in new york state. These requirements also apply to the registration of vehicles such as a boat, snowmobile, or ATV.
However, getting a driver’s license has benefits beyond those of driving: A Tax Policy Institute study estimates that every driver in New York could save $17 per year on their auto insurance policy if every qualified driver could get a license.
can a car be registered with a suspended license in new york?
In New York, a license or permit is not required to purchase or register a car, as long as you have a valid government ID. Just because you can register a car doesn’t mean you can drive it. Getting caught driving on a suspended license is a serious crime and will result in sky-high insurance premiums, as well as jail time and a longer license suspension.
Learn more about obtaining a license in another state if your license is suspended.
can you register a car online in new york?
no, online car registration is not possible in new york.
no, online car registration is not possible in new york. however, if you buy your car from a car dealer, they will take care of this for you. private transactions will involve a trip to the dmv.
can a car be registered and insured with a permit in new york?
yes, you can register a car with just a driver’s license.
You don’t need a license or permit to simply register a car, but insuring it could be more complicated without a license or permit.
However, buying a car with a permit is difficult as most drivers with permits are minors. Car dealers generally won’t sell to minors, and you must be 18 years old to buy a car in most states. Also, car insurers are unlikely to insure underage drivers, since a car policy is a contract and cannot be legally concluded until the age of maturity, which is usually 18.
learn more about driving with a driver’s license in new york state.
can you insure a car without a license in new york?
A primary driver on an insurance policy can be anyone who is licensed and drives your vehicle on a regular basis. it could be a teen driver, a spouse, a roommate, or a caregiver.
These are just a few of the more common reasons you may need auto insurance, even if you don’t have a vehicle:
While it may be more difficult, it is absolutely possible to insure a car without a valid license in New York, but you may need to be an excluded driver.
Instead of using your driver’s license to apply for an insurance policy, you may be allowed to apply for a policy using the name and license number of the primary driver of your car. In this way, you are listed on the policy but not as a driver.
Also, you may need to be listed as an excluded driver on the policy. this means that if you end up behind the wheel of your car (or any other car) you won’t have coverage. you will be solely responsible for the cost of any damage you do to your car, as well as other people and their vehicles if you drive as an excluded driver.
Not all insurers are willing to exclude the owner from their own policy, so you may need to shop around for the right coverage. There are insurance companies, such as esurance, that allow someone else to insure your car, even if he has no insurable interest in the vehicle.
Read about the penalties for driving without a valid inspection sticker in New York State.
what are the minimum insurance requirements in new york?
All states have minimum car insurance requirements to be able to drive legally. New York law requires that you have automobile liability insurance coverage.
The minimum amount of liability coverage is:
To meet New York requirements, your liability insurance coverage must:
See our experts’ recommendations on which is the cheapest auto insurance in New York.