no insurance fine explained by new york traffic lawyer
You are required to carry a set minimum amount of automobile insurance coverage within the state of New York. If you do not comply with the requirements to purchase at least the required minimum amount of insurance coverage, you could face very serious legal consequences. Substantial fines could result from being uninsured, and you could lose your license to drive a car.
- Average Car Insurance Cost (October 2022) – WalletHub | How Much is Car Insurance?
- The Midas List 2022: Return Of The Top Female Investors
- How much does it cost to add a teenager to car insurance?
- Podcasting will be a 4 billion industry by 2024 – The Verge
- Salon Chair & Booth Rental Insurance: Cost & Quotes from 7
If you are accused of driving without insurance or allowing someone else to drive without insurance, you must be proactive in responding to these serious accusations. you may be able to fight to avoid penalties or you may be able to negotiate a settlement where you face minor penalties for not having insurance. You should speak with an experienced New York traffic crime attorney to find out your best option for responding to a charge of driving without valid insurance.
the new york lawyers at the new york traffic firm have helped many motorists facing serious legal consequences for operating vehicles without insurance. our legal team can review the facts of your situation and can help you decide the best approach to respond to the allegations.
Whether we fight to help you avoid penalties or work to negotiate a settlement to reduce consequences, our goal is always to protect your right to drive and help you get the best possible outcome for your situation. Call us today for more information.
new york laws on driving without insurance
The New York State Department of Financial Services explains the minimum required amount of auto insurance that motorists must carry for the vehicles they own. Drivers are expected to have coverage for at least $25,000 in bodily injury per person and at least $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident.
This means that if you hit three people, your insurer would pay up to $25,000 to each individual person, but would pay a total of $50,000 for the entire accident. motorists must also have at least $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. Many motorists choose to purchase more than the minimum coverage to protect their assets, but this is not a legal requirement.
However, if you don’t have at least the bare minimum, you could be in serious legal trouble. If you are going to allow your insurance to lapse on any vehicle, even a car you are not driving, you are expected to turn in your vehicle’s license plates and vehicle registration to the Department of Motor Vehicles. simply taking the car off the road is not enough to absolve you of your responsibility to maintain ongoing coverage for your auto insurance. you have to surrender the plates if you let your policy lapse, or there could be consequences for having an uninsured vehicle.
penalties for driving without insurance
according to the new york department of motor vehicles, not having the minimum required auto insurance could result in an expensive fine, among other consequences. A motorist convicted of operating a motor vehicle without insurance may have their license revoked for at least one year. For operating the vehicle without insurance, the motorist could also be charged a civil penalty of $750. Motorists can also face loss of their license and assessment of this penalty if they allow someone else to drive their car without insurance.
Your lack of insurance could be discovered as a result of any interaction with the police when you are operating your motor vehicle. You are required to have proof of insurance with you and you could be fined for not having this proof of insurance if you are pulled over and asked to see it by a law enforcement officer. Even outside of violations that call attention to your uninsured status, New York State may also discover you’re underinsured in other ways, including reporting policy cancellations from insurers. If there is any reason to suspect your vehicle is uninsured, you may receive an inquiry letter and should respond to it in a timely manner.
If you are involved in an accident without being insured, the dmv may also be notified of your failure to comply with the law that requires at least a minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage.
how a new york traffic crime lawyer can help you
If you are accused of allowing your car insurance to lapse, you face the threat of serious potential consequences, including the possibility of temporarily losing your driver’s license. The penalties are very high for not having car insurance, so this can cause a significant financial burden if you are having difficulty paying the civil penalty that was triggered as a result of operating a car that is not insured.
A new york traffic crime lawyer can help you better understand your options when you have been charged with driving without insurance. Sometimes those options include defending against the charges because there is insufficient evidence that he was uninsured or because he can present an affirmative defense showing why he was uninsured. In other circumstances, fighting the allegations is unlikely to be successful, and Simon Kabzan may advise you to take another approach to responding to the allegations, such as trying to negotiate a deal to reduce sanctions.
You should work with an experienced attorney who can provide personalized advice and guidance on what is best for your specific situation. ny traffic company has provided help to many motorists facing legal problems as a result of not having insurance coverage. we can guide you through the process of responding to the serious allegations that have been made. We’ll work hard to try to protect your license and your finances, regardless of which approach is right for you.
To learn more about the help we can offer if you’ve been charged with operating a vehicle without insurance, call us today.